Soan from Camiguin Island

“Life is tough… My husband died ten years ago. I am raising our three children by myself” Soan tells me. 

Seventeen years ago, she worked as a housekeeper in Malaysia. “You see my oldest boy?” A naughty smile appears. “He is the son of my first boyfriend, his father is Indian. A few years later, I met my husband. When our youngest girl was four years old, he suddenly got pain in his stomage. A few days later he died in our local hospital. We were so sad.”

Nonetheless, she looks like a strong woman who does not give up. 

Sitting at the side of the road she waits for people who stop to buy her fish. “Today is a good day, but when there is no fish or vegetables to sell… pfff, then it really gets tough.”

2 thoughts on “Soan from Camiguin Island

Leave a Reply

