Slum life in Kolkata

How would my life be if I was born in these slums? Would I also walk in a sari dress on the train track to take my sister home? I could not imagine how my life would be… 

Despite our differences as white Western tourists, we are warmly welcomed by many children who live in the small houses made of waste products.

A mother is cooking potato stew on a small fireplace in front of her house. Next door, the neighbors are sewing classy red pumps for a shoe shop. Further on, a girl of 10 years is washing herself with soap and small buckets of water. No school for her- her parents can likely not afford it.

What will their future be? Can we help them? Will it make a difference? Or is it my Western perception that they need to be helped? Is there a right answer?

Leave a Reply

