Mahendra from Landruk

Mahendra’s life changed within seconds when he fell out of a high tree. When he woke up, he realized he could not move his legs anymore. He was twenty-one years old. Since that moment he has been paralyzed and can only move his arms and turn his head. 

He is thirty-three now and has stayed inside his dark wooden house the last twelve years. The steep hilly road of his mountain village makes it impossible to move him around on a bed. He is stuck in his house.

Mahendra might be paralyzed, but he is still a smart guy. His house is next to the small cobble stone road that tourist walk to enter his picturesque village. Each hiker will stare right into Mahendra’s friendly face when passing by. A donation box is standing next to his open window. A little note in simple English tells Mahendra’s story.

Many tourists are touched by his tragic story, chat with him and donate some money. This helps him to stay alive without any income and to be connected with the outside world. 

One thought on “Mahendra from Landruk

  1. lieve Jet, al zeer lang ben ik van plan om je te mailen, maar helaas kwam het er steeds niet van, maar na het lezen van dit bericht vond ik dat ik je direct moest mailen voor het te laat is en ik niet meer weet waarom ik wilde mailen of voordat je overleden bent, want een ongeluk zit in een klein hoekje zoals wij allebei als de beste weten eerst even waarover ik je wilde mailen:

    hoe was het kamp? welke bekenden van mij waren er mee behalve jij en Huybert en Cyriel en Peter Paul? vind je het niet enorm jammer dat het jouw laatste keer was? wie gaat nu kampleider worden? het zal voor die persoon zeer moeilijk worden om jou op te volgen waar ben jij nu op vakantie? wanneer kunnen wij een keer afspreken? want zoals je weet verheug ik me enorm op al je verhalen ik ben 6 oktober in ieder geval weer in Amsterdam heb jij dan tijd voor een date? nu verder mijn reactie op deze true story: wie zorgt er voor Mahendra? heb je zijn emailadres voor me? Margreet

    Like

Leave a Reply

